Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarships

Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarships

The Association of Commonwealth Universities
Masters Degree

Deadline: 9 July  (Annual)
Study in: South Africa, Sri Lanka, South Pacific, Namibia, Papua New Guinea
Course starts Jan/Feb , July to Oct

Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarships

Brief description:

Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarships: Students from Commonwealth nations who are interested in pursuing a Master’s degree over the course of two years in a country with a low or middle income other than their own are eligible to apply for Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarships (QECS).

The scholarships offer students who are dedicated to making a difference in their communities the once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to travel to a different country and become immersed in its culture, to broaden their horizons, and to construct international connections that will last for the rest of their lives.

Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholars help bring about positive change and find solutions to common difficulties in their home countries as well as in the nations that host them through cultural interaction and intellectual collaboration.

Host Institution(s):

• IBMBB, University of Colombo
• University of Sri Jayewardenepura
• The University of the South Pacific
• Fiji National University
• University of Johannesburg
• Rhodes University
• University of Stellenbosch
• University of Venda
• North-West University
• Tshwane University of Technology
• University of Pretoria
• Papua New Guinea University of Technology
• University of Namibia

Level/Field(s) of study:

Master’s degrees lasting two years that can be earned in approved subjects at the universities listed above. Visit the Official Website (the link is provided below) to view the full list of courses that qualify.

See also  Bertha Scholarships for Social Innovators in Africa

Number of Scholarships:

Not specified

Target group:

Citizens and individuals who hold a refugee status in Commonwealth countries.

Scholarship value/inclusions:

The recipient of the scholarship will receive a monthly stipend in addition to having their tuition costs covered in full for the term of the award. In addition to that, the scholarship will pay for round-trip economy airfares to and from the host nation, as well as an arrival allowance and a research support award. Only those who submit a request will be considered for the research funding, which is also subject to approval.


Applicants who are eligible are citizens of Commonwealth countries (or those who possess refugee status), and they are only allowed to apply for 2-year Master’s degrees that are offered at partnering universities in qualifying low- to middle-income Commonwealth countries. They have to be applying to study in a low- to middle-income Commonwealth country that is not their own country. Their own country cannot be one of those countries.

The Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarships are only available for eligible Master’s degree programs that are offered at participating universities in the following countries and regions: Sri Lanka, the South Pacific, South Africa, Papua New Guinea, and Namibia. These scholarships are only available to students who are applying for Cycle 2, 2020, and their studies will begin in January or February of 2021.

There is no maximum age requirement in order to be considered for a QECS Award. All applicants are required to already possess a Bachelor’s degree, and they must have graduated with a grade that is comparable to a 2:1. It is not possible to use a QECS award to pay for a course that has already been begun; these grants are only available to new students.

See also  ANGUS-SAWISE Scholarships in Science and Engineering for African Women

Application instructions:

Applicants are not required to have already been accepted into a course before to submitting an application for the QECS; nevertheless, they are strongly urged to submit an application for their preferred course of study either prior to or concurrently with submitting an application for a QECS award.

In addition to filling out a QECS application, you will also need to apply directly to the institution of your choice in order to be admitted to the university programme that you have selected.

You will need to go to the websites of the colleges of your choice in order to find information about admissions and application deadlines. The deadline to submit an application for a scholarship under Cycle 2 has been set for July 9 and applies to courses that will begin in January or February

It is important to visit the official website (link found below) for detailed information on how to apply for this scholarship.


Official Scholarship Website: https://www.acu.ac.uk/funding-opportunities/for-students/scholarships/queen-elizabeth-commonwealth-scholarships/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: