Australia Awards Scholarships

Australia Awards Scholarships

Australian Government
Bachelors/Masters/PhD Degrees

Deadline: 29 April  (annual)
Study in:  Australia
Course starts: Next year

Australia Awards Scholarships

Brief description: 

Australia Awards Scholarships: People from developing countries, particularly those countries located in the Indo-Pacific region, have the opportunity to pursue full-time undergraduate or postgraduate study at participating Australian universities and Technical and Further Education (TAFE) institutions through the Australia Awards Scholarships program, which was formerly known as the Australian Development Scholarships (ADS).

Host Institution(s):

Any of the Participating Australian Institutions

Level/Field(s) of study:

Programs at the undergraduate or postgraduate level that are connected to the key areas for development that are indicated on the nation profiles of the participating countries and that are relevant to your country.

There are no Australia Awards available for students interested in pursuing education in fields such as nuclear technology, flying airplanes, or military training.

Number of Scholarships:

Not specified.

Target group:

Citizens of one of the participating countries in Asia, Pacific, Africa, and the Middle East. See the complete list of participating countries.

Scholarship value/inclusions/duration:

The benefits of the scholarship often consist of the following: contribution to living expenses (CLE), full tuition fees, return plane travel, establishment allowance, Overseas Student Health Cover (OSHC), Introductory Academic Program (IAP), and Pre-course English (PCE) fees, etc. Visit the official website for the full rundown of all of the advantages.

The scholarships are awarded for the bare minimum amount of time that is required for the candidate to finish the academic program that has been outlined by the Australian higher education institution, which may or may not include any prior training.

See also  University of Calgary International Entrance Scholarship


To be eligible to receive a Scholarship, applicants must:

  1. be at least 18 years old on February 1 of the year in which they intend to begin receiving the scholarship;
  2. be a citizen of one of the countries mentioned on the Australia Awards website as participating countries, and both reside in and submit their application for the scholarship from the nation in which they are citizens;
  3. not be a citizen of Australia, not have permanent residency in Australia, and not have a visa application pending to live in Australia permanently;
  4. not be married to, engaged to, or living in a de facto relationship with a person who holds, or is eligible to hold, Australian or New Zealand citizenship or permanent residency at any time during the application, selection, or mobilization phases (please note that residents of Cook Islands, Niue, and Tokelau who hold New Zealand citizenship are eligible but must apply for a Student visa [subclass 500]); not have a criminal record that would prevent them from serving in the military; not have a criminal record that would
  5. not be a member of the armed forces at the present time;
  6. not have previously received a long-term Australia Award unless they have resided outside of Australia for twice the length of time that they were in Australia (for example, a previous awardee who has been on an Australia Awards Scholarship in Australia for four years will not be eligible to apply for another Australia Awards Scholarship until they have resided outside of Australia for eight years); not have previously received a short-term Australia Award unless they have resided outside of Australia for half the length of time that they were in Australia (for example,
  7. not have been convicted of any criminal offenses, anywhere in the world, including in their own nation, especially those related to child protection and PSEAH;
  8. Recipients of the Pacific Secondary School Scholarship Program (PSSSP) who have graduated from an Australian secondary school in the preceding academic year are qualified to submit an application for a long-term Australia Award;
  9. have satisfied any special conditions imposed by the Program Area or the government of the applicant’s country of citizenship (for example, having worked a certain number of years in an eligible field); have been accepted into the Program Area.
  10. be capable of satisfying the admission requirements of the university at which the award is to be undertaken (this may mean that Program Areas will need to withdraw an award offer if the recipient is unable to satisfy the institution’s admission standards). Until Program Areas request a placement at one of the chosen institutions, it is possible that this information will not be known.
  11. be able to prove to the Department of Home Affairs that you meet all of their standards in order to obtain a Student Visa. It is possible that as a result of this, the Program Area will be required to rescind an offer of an award if the recipient is unable to satisfy the visa criteria;
  12. not be asking for a scholarship to pursue a line of study at an academic level that is lower than the one that has already been achieved (for example, seeking for a scholarship to pursue a Master’s degree when they already have a PhD);
  13. Applicants are required to disclose to the Program Area any connection or link they have to personnel employed at Program Areas (including locally engaged workers at post) or with managing contractors in order for the application to be managed in a manner that is both appropriate and transparent.
See also  DRD Scholarships for Sub-Saharan Africans

Read the complete eligibility criteria in the Australia Awards Policy Handbook (PDF)

Application instructions:

Check the open and close dates for your nation, and then pick your country of citizenship or residence from the list of participating countries to get specific information on eligibility, priority areas, and how to apply for the program. Applications can be submitted either online or through the mail (if unable to apply online). The deadline is on April 29th, this year, with the exception of Tonga, which has not yet been determined.

It is important to read the how to apply page and visit the country specific pages, and the official website (link found below) for detailed and updated information on how to apply for this scholarship.


Official Scholarship Website:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: